Parish Council Election Results and Vacancy Notice

With all the publicity and media coverage of the othe recent elections, many of you may well be unaware that there was also a Parish Council election scheduled for this year. However – as there were 7 nominations received for 9 positions, it was an uncontested and the following persons were appointed as Parish Councillors:

  • Mr Peter Burton
  • Mrs Joyce Chessell
  • Mrs Lynda Cryer
  • Mr David Hindle
  • Mr Keith Middlebrough
  • Mrs Eileen Murray
  • Mrs Lindsay Philipson

Following on from the Annual General Meeting, we are delighted to announce that Councillor Lindsay Philipson is our new Chairman, with Peter Burton taking on the role of Vice-Chairman.

There were also various other appointments made to outside bodies, working groups and the Planning Sub-Committee, full details of which are available in the May 15 minutes.

Councillors Lynn McCann and Dan Dewhurst stepped down from the Parish Council and we thank them for their service and hard work.

That now leaves us with two vacancies, which will be filled through the process of co-option. If you wish to put yourself forward to become a Parish Councillor, then please contact our Clerk, Sue Whittam, to register your interest.

You will find useful initial information on our page "The Role of the Parish Councillor".

The process of co-option is that you should come along to our next two meetings (link to meeting dates). This will be your opportunity to find out more about the specific work of Grimsargh Parish Council.

If, after that, you are still interested in joining us, you should come along to the subsequent meeting, where we will be co-opting to fill the vacancies.

Vacancy notice (pdf).